Online therapy, counseling & psychoanalysis

Moving towards health, success and well-being

A Note from a Colleague: CLAUDIA LUIS

Leave a comment

 

Claudia Luiz
Author, “Where’s My Sanity?” Is available on Amazon
 
 Below is a recent note that I received from a dear colleague.  She recently authored a  book that will be of interest to many of you.  By way of introduction here is her note.

To my psychotherapy colleagues:

It never ceases to amaze me how — when people hear the word “psychoanalysis” — they still think of Freud. I mean yes, of course he’s the father of psychoanalysis. But really, if you stop to think about it, his first introductory lectures in the US were delivered at Clark University in 1903. That is over a hundred years ago!

Just forty years ago, my mother started studying psychoanalysis. And after that, my whole world changed. We went from being a family that loved each other but didn’t talk, to being a family that had a lot of anger that got talked about. And amazingly, all that anger being expressed, and dealt with, and processed and healed, brought us all so close together, and each individually, to such a better place. And no cigars!

Now, I’m a psychoanalyst. So I know even more about how far therapy practices have come. About emotional communication, emotional experiences, how we use countertransference (to understand not only our patients, but ourselves!) – and how art and science come together to guide our interventions…this is where it’s at.

It has become my mission to educate the general public about what a rich emotional experience therapy should be, and to restore hope and vibrancy to it. Because it seems like even our greatest advances in clinical practice are mostly unrecognized by the general public. People still think of therapy with an element of dread. It shouldn’t be that way. 

Now — I did not write an academic treatise or even an expository non-fiction book to fulfill my mission. I thought, “who would want to read that?” Instead, I wrote a set of moving stories about people in treatment, suffering from our most common-day afflictions – anxiety, depression, being stuck, unhappily married or raising difficult children. I wanted the everyday reader to experience – not just know – how therapy today can work to create deep and lasting change.

I am very pleased to report that “Where’s My Sanity: Stories that Help,” is being endorsed by the National Association for the Advancement of Psychoanalysis, and by the Society of Modern Psychoanalysis. Chapter Four, about my experience in clinical field studies with a schizophrenic called “Anita,” has been included, to date, in the curriculums and reading lists of four leading psychoanalytic institutes in the Northeast. 

I am so happy that the book’s solid foundation in clinical theory is being recognized, but what makes me even happier is when readers tell me that they couldn’t put the book down. People need faith that programs of change will help them, and I hope my book will help to stoke that faith, and that you will be interested in reading it and using it to help draw positive energy to your practice.

The book is available on Amazon (I can’t put a link to it in this letter) but if you go to amazon.com and put in “Where’s My Sanity?” you will see all five-star reviews, and be able to take a look yourself. Please feel free to request a copy of the chapter that is currently being used in classrooms – I will be very happy to send it to you myself via e-mail.

Very best,

Claudia Luiz, PsyaD

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
Author: aldussault

I am an artist, photographer, watercolorist, and primarily a modern psychoanalyst. I blog about politics and consciousness as well as create digital fine art photos of my pen & inks and my water colorings. My hobby is studying piano.

Leave a Reply

